Modern day organizations provide employees the flexibility to work from anywhere around the office, such as the workstation, cafeteria, or meeting rooms. When employees use mobile devices to do work, they will store data on them. And, when employees move around with these devices, there is a fair chance a few of the devices will get lost. When an employee reports the loss of a mobile device, you might immediately want to wipe the data stored on it. But a data wipe must be done only after confirming the loss of the device. Otherwise, it can cause work redundancy or affect productivity.

As an IT admin, you don’t need to press the panic button immediately when you hear about a device loss. Depending on the scenario, you can choose security management options such as remote alarm, remote lock, corporate wipe, or complete wipe. For instance, if an employee who spends a lot of time in office misplaces a device, you could initiate a remote alarm to check whether the device is somewhere nearby, even if it is switched off. If you aren’t able to track the device, you could then initiate a corporate or complete wipe, depending on your user’s request.

With Desktop Central Mobile Device Management for Windows Phones and Android devices, you can perform security actions such as remote alarm and ensure that your corporate data is in safe hands. For more information about the feature visit MDM.

 

Related posts: